Congrats to AWI Scholarship Recipients

AWI extends our congratulations to Hailey Chui (California), Katja Erringer (Oregon), Sage Farrow (Colorado), Lien Ferry (Pennsylvania), Makenna Owens (Florida), Will Smith (Minnesota), Isabelle Sydow (Minnesota), and Chloe Quin (Illinois). These are the recipients of the inaugural Animal Welfare Institute Scholarship.

AWI launched the scholarship late last year in order to assist high school students who have demonstrated a commitment to animal welfare and who plan to continue working to better the treatment of animals through college and beyond.

AWI raised funds for the scholarship program during our Giving Tuesday campaign last November, and began receiving applications in December. Of the submissions received, the AWI scholarship committee selected the above-mentioned high school seniors for awards of $2,000 each for use toward college expenses. 

These individuals have spent their high school years volunteering at local humane societies, veterinary clinics, and wildlife rehabilitation centers, and were enthusiastically recommended by their teachers and mentors. In helping such students defray some of the costs of post-secondary education, AWI hopes to encourage and inspire the next generation of animal advocates. The 2020 Animal Welfare Institute Scholarship recipients are already improving the lives of animals, and we look forward to seeing more from these dedicated young humanitarians in the future.